Wednesday, March 5, 2014

Some of you may have seen the recent flurry of press activity about the silver hoard in Area F. It all started when Owen Jarus of Live Science got a hold of the article that Nava, Ruhama and I wrote on the results of our first season in the British journal, Strata. (You can access the article from our website and Facebook page). Owen asked if we would provide him with some photos and additional information for an article he wanted to write on the jewelry in particular. Of course, we agreed, not expecting the story to be picked up by other news services. We are thrilled that the news of Abel is spreading. I've gotten numerous notifications from Academia.edu of people who have accessed our article. We are grateful to Owen for starting the ball rolling on this. Of all the articles, my personal favorite is the one by Noah Wiener of the Biblical Archaeology Society.

More than anything, all of this press is a tribute to our team members who made it possible through their dedication and hard work. Without you this would have never happened! Now join us again this summer and help us find even more! :-) Remember that our arrival and departure dates are different this summer to help team members avoid the hassle of traveling on Shabbat. Instead of Sundays, the arrival day will be on Tuesdays with the actual digging taking Wednesday through Friday (Saturday and Sunday free), followed by digging again on Monday and Tuesday. The departure day will be on Tuesday after lunch.

If you are eager to read through the various articles that appeared about the silver hoard, here are the links. They should help put you to sleep on those restless nights :-)

Live Science: http://www.livescience.com/43546-silver-ancient-treasure-found-in-israel.html

Yahoo! News:  http://news.yahoo.com/silver-hoop-earrings-found-among-ancient-treasure-biblical-122230304.html

Fox News: http://www.foxnews.com/science/2014/02/21/silver-hoop-earrings-found-among-ancient-treasure-in-biblical-city/

Archaeology magazine: http://www.archaeology.org/news/1846-140221-ancient-silver-jewelry-israel

Times of Israel:  http://www.timesofisrael.com/3300-year-old-silver-earrings-found-at-biblical-site/

Biblical Archaeology Society: http://www.biblicalarchaeology.org/daily/news/abel-beth-maacah-excavations-uncover-silver-hoard-at-an-ancient-crossroads/?mqsc=E3757047&utm_source=WhatCountsEmail&utm_medium=BHDDailyNewsletter&utm_campaign=E4B227

The Blaze: http://www.theblaze.com/stories/2014/02/26/guess-what-these-bible-era-artifacts-estimated-to-be-3300-years-old-were-used-for/

Huffington Post: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/03/03/biblical-era-earrings_n_4861973.html

International Business Times (UK Edition): http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/israel-ancient-silver-jewellery-hoard-discovered-1439143

Ancient Origins: http://www.ancient-origins.net/news-history-archaeology/archaeologists-reveal-ancient-treasure-biblical-city-001369

Popular Archaeology magazine: http://popular-archaeology.com/issue/03012014/article/archaeologists-excavate-ancient-aramean-city-in-israel

1 comment:

  1. Ever wonder what the most versatile piece of equipment on the jobsite is? Did you know that this machine was invented and first used over 150 years ago?
    For more information: excavation massachusetts

    ReplyDelete